Manchester United 1 Crystal Palace 2 (AET)

Match corresponding to the Quarter Finals of the League Cup. A tribute was paid to Gary Speed (RIP) before kick off.

A very much changed United line up that once again proved that several players, yes you Messers Gibson, Berbatov, Diouf and Evans, are off too low a quality for Manchester United. Crystal Palace, a team playing in a division lower than United, played a gutsy game, run their socks off, scored one of the best goals ever scored at Old Trafford, and I think deservedly qualified for the competitions semi against Cardiff City. Ferguson, as usual, fielded a reserve side but still included 9 full internationals. Palace were tenacious in midfield and in Zaha had a player that run Fabio somewhat ragged in the first half. as per usual both brazilian twins limped off before 90 minutes and an ineffectual and moany Berbatov did not reappear after half time. Chris Smalling was the only United player that salvages some of his reputation after this match. Him and Ravel Morrison that looked much sharper and active that the Bulgarian scrote that masquaraded as a football player for 45 minutes.  Darren Ambrose scored a truly spectacular goal from 40 yards, simply amazing strike while Kiko Macheda scored United’s equaliser from the penalty spot. There was no doubt in the giving of the penalty as Palace’s skipper pulled Macheda’s shirt and threw him to the ground. As the match went into extra time United piled on the pressure but staunch defending and Palace’s keeper kept the red wave at bay. As the second half of extra time closed, Murray headed in an Ambrose cross in circumstances similar to the annulling of Chicharito’s goal against Newacastle at the weekend for offside. Yet even hardcore Reds cannot deny Palace their moment as they came to play at Old Trafford and they deserved to go throuh. SAF now seriously need to look at the shower of shite that permeates our squad and do something about it!

Manchester United Team

40 Ben Amos

20 Fabio Da Silva

12 Chris Smalling

6   Johnny Evans

21 Rafael Da Silva

32 Mame Biram Diouf

13 Ji Sung Park

28 Darron Gibson

25 Antonio Valencia

9    Dimitar Berbatov

27 Federico Macheda (Goal/Penalty)


Ezekyel Fryers for Fabio Da Silva

Ravel Morrison for Dimitar Berbatov

Paul Pogba for Rafael Da Silva